Chance to Shine Awards 2018

The Chance to Shine Awards are a brilliant evening that celebrates the great and the good of grassroots cricket. Every year we search for those who are spreading the power of cricket in schools and communities across the country. 

This year, the Chance to Shine Awards supported by NatWest will be taking place at Lord's Cricket Ground on Wednesday 21 November. Nominations are now open in the below categories until Friday 5 October. 

(R L) Kevin Herbert   Staffs Cricket, Jenni Williams   The Way Youth Zone, Tariq Ali   Coach, Martyn Wilson   Nat West, Shukran & Arslan

Award Categories: 

(Nomination form downloads only available on desktop/laptop)

NatWest #NoBoundaries Award

‘Cricket has no boundaries’ is a NatWest campaign that celebrates the diversity and inclusivity of cricket as a sport.

This award recognises an individual, group of individuals or project that demonstrates the ability of sport to break down barriers to participation and create an inclusive environment in which all young people can flourish, regardless of gender, race, religion or ability. This may be ensuring that a group under-represented within sport are getting the opportunity to take part.

Last year's #NoBoundaries Award was won by the Wolverhampton Street Project, watch their story here.

Click here for the #NoBoundaries Award nomination form.

(L R) Eaton Gordon   Warks Cb, Cormac Whelan   Pyf, Hanni, Chris Tremlett   Former England Cricketer, Susie Murphy   Pyf, Zoraiz

Chance to Shine Project of the Year Award

Chance to Shine Schools and Street is strategically delivered through individual projects identified by their county board, and this award recognises the outstanding achievements made to increase opportunities for young people to play and learn through cricket. 

Nominees must: 
 • Come from a current Chance to Shine programme delivering either Schools or Street activity

Find out more about last years winner, Coventry Street, here. 

Click here for the Project of the Year nomination form. 

Jason Roy (L), Adrian Crust

Chance to Shine Coach of the Year Award

Coaches are at the heart of Chance to Shine and we recognise the impact great coaches have on young people. Coaches act as role models, inspire young people to develop a love of the game and engage with teachers/community workers to bring cricket into everyday life. This award recognises the role of great coaches in the Chance to Shine Schools and Street programme and there will be a separate award for Schools coach and Street coach.

Nominees must: 
• Hold a relevant ECB coaching qualification or equivalent
• Hold an up to date CRB qualification

In 2017 Adrian Crust was named Schools Coach of the Year, whilst Zahoor Ahmed took the Street Coach Award. 

Click here for the Coach of the Year nomination form. 

(L R) Alan Hodges, Musanna, Derek Brewer, Nafissa, Ahsan Ahmed

Chance to Shine Primary School of the Year Award

Schools are extremely important to the programme and this award recognises how they embrace the Chance to Shine philosophy in working towards both sustainability and competition. 

Nominees must:
• Have received Chance to Shine coaching and taken part in competition 
• Have engaged with the programme on a regular basis, including the training of teachers
• Provide a clear club / school link to transition young people 

Denbigh Primary School were last year's winner and you can watch their amazing story here.  

Click here for the Primary School of the Year nomination form. 

Chance to Shine Secondary School of the Year Award

Pupils From Ysgol Dyffryn Ogwen And England And Middlesex Cricketer Nick Compton (2nd L) And Sport England's Chris Coleman (3rd R)

Schools are extremely important to the programme and this award recognises how they embrace the Chance to Shine philosophy and values in working towards both sustainability and competition. The Secondary Schools Award will recognise a school which is making an impact on increasing regular participation in cricket by young people. We're looking for a school that has embraced the Chance to Compete tournament and got great engagement from the students and teachers. 

Nominees must have taken part in the 2017/18 Chance to Compete tournament at some level.

Click here for the Secondary School of the Year nomination form.

Chance to Shine Street Participant of the Year Award

Street Participant

We're looking for an individual worthy of recognition who is a participant at a Street project. This award recognises both girls and boys, who have been outstanding participants in our Street programme for a number of reasons including: showing great dedication to the project with regular attendance and enthusiasm, showing strong personal development over time, performing well at competitions and helping other participants with their development, progressing their cricket beyond Chance to Shine.

Nominees must:
• Have been part of a Chance to Shine Street programme during 2017/18

Asad Rizvi from the Old Trafford Street project won the award in 2017, find out more about his story here.

Click here for the Street Participant of the Year Award nomination form.